Hassenbusch Continued Learning Scholarship

The Hassenbusch Continued Learning Scholarship is presented annually by the Texas Pain Society and Texas Pain Foundation, in honor the memory of TPS board member Dr. Sam Hassenbusch. 

Congratulations to our Hassenbusch Continued Learning Scholarship winners!
  • Diana Johnson McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas at Houston
  • Omar Alnatour McGovern Medical School
  • Steven Mach MD Anderson Cancer Center Pain Fellowship
  • Marissa Catalanotto Baylor College of Medicine Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Vishal Bansal The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
  • Eliana Ege Baylor College of Medicine
  • Arjun Patel Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine - Baylor Scott & White Pain Medicine Fellowship Program
  • John Hartman Baylor Scott and White - Temple

The Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD, PhD Continued Learning Scholarships are annual scholarships sponsored by the Texas Pain Society and Texas Pain Foundation and created to honor the memory of TPS board member Dr. Sam Hassenbusch. Dr. Hassenbusch was an advocate for teaching and spent a majority of his life teaching others what he had learned.

All Texas residents are eligible to apply. Scholarships are available for up to five residents who have an interest in pain medicine. Entries will be reviewed and decided upon by the TPS board of directors. 

Please complete the questions entirely. You may attach an additional page if you need more space. Submit the form no later than October 8, 2022. Questions? Call 512-535-0010.

Once received, the Texas Pain Society board of directors will review the applications and choose five residents to receive the scholarship. The scholarship will allow a complimentary registration for the full meeting. 

Complete your submission here

2021 Winners

Marianne Gelter, MD 
MD Anderson Cancer Center/ Pain Medicine Fellowship

Vishal Bansal, MD
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Nita Kuttikandathil, MD
UT Health San Antonio

Ashley Wetzig, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

George Polson, MD
Baylor College of Medicine/Physical Medicine 
& Rehabilitation

Neil Nagda, MD
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, Anesthesiology


What discounts are available for fellows?

  • Fellows receive discounted pricing to the conference. Reach out to us for more information. 

What happens if I'm selected and I already registered? 

  • If you are one of the selected, we will reimburse your registration fee. 

Do I reserve a guest room? 

  • Guest rooms are limited, so if you are certain you're attending, we recommend proceeding with a reservation. Note that the hotel has a specific cancellation policy.