Heavner Basic Science Lectureship

The James Heavner Basic Science Lectureship Award is an annual award created by the Texas Pain Society to honor the memory and efforts of TPS board member Dr. James Heavner.

This award is presented to an individual each year during the TPS annual meeting. The board of directors will select the person to receive the award based on the individual’s research, academic achievements, professional contributions to pain management, patient care, and advocacy, among other factors. 


2023 12th Annual James Heavner Basic Science Lectureship Award: Kenneth M. Hargreaves, DDS, PhD

Dr. Hargreaves received his B.A. in neurobiology from the University of California at Berkeley in 1977, his D.D.S. from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., in 1983, and his Ph.D. in Physiology from the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, Maryland, in 1986.

From 1986 to 1990, he was a Staff Fellow and Senior Staff Fellow at the Neurobiology and Anesthesiology Branch of the National Institute of Dental Research (now NIDCR) at the NIH. He completed his residency in Endodontics at the University of Minnesota in 1993 and is a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics. Dr. Hargreaves is currently professor and chair of the Department of Endodontics, and professor in the Department of Pharmacology, Department of Physiology, and Department of Surgery at UT Health San Antonio. He also maintains a private practice limited to endodontics.


Past Winners

October 2022
October 2021
October 2019
November 2018
October 2017
October 2016
October 2015 
October 2014 
October 2013 
October 2012 
November 2011

Patrick M. Dougherty, PhD
Tony L. Yaksh, Ph.D 
Arnold I. Caplan, Ph.D
Carl Erickson, PhD 
Hemmo Bosscher MD, PhD
Srinivasa Raja, MD
Arthur G. Lipman, PHARM D, FASHP
LiYen Mae Huang, PhD
Volker Neugebauer, MD
Howard Gutstein, MD
James Heavner, DVM, PhD