Hassenbusch Lectureship

The Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD, PhD Lectureship Award is an annual award created by the Texas Pain Society to honor the memory of TPS Board Member, Dr. Sam Hassenbusch.

This award will be presented to an individual each year during the TPS Annual Meeting.

The Board of Directors will select the person to receive the award based on the individual’s research and academic achievements, professional contributions to pain management as well as patient care and advocacy among other factors.

This person will receive a plaque and will have a $1,000 donated from TPS on their behalf to Riders For the Cure (www.ridersforthecure.org)



15th Annual Samuel J. Hassenbusch Lectureship Award 2021 : Miles Day, MD, MD, DABA, DABA-PM, FIPP

Dr. Miles Day serves as the Medical Director of the Grace Health System® Pain Management Center. Dr. Day is board certified in Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine by the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Dr. Day earned his undergraduate degree at the University of Texas in Austin and received his medical degree at Texas A&M University Health Science Center. He completed a general surgery internship at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center as well as an anesthesiology residency and pain fellowship. After wrapping up the fellowship, Dr. Day stayed at Texas Tech to serve on the staff. He currently serves as the Pain Medicine Fellowship program director and Professor of anesthesiology and pain management.

Dr. Day says the big three complaints he hears from patients are low back pain, neck pain and musculoskeletal pain. “You can treat them similarly, but, at the same time, they have to be treated differently. In pain management, we have got to look at medications, physical therapy, which helps in the functional restoration, and if they need any interventional therapy we are here to do that,” says Dr. Day. Interventional therapy includes nerve blocks, radiofrequency ablation, spinal cord stimulators and intrathecal therapy.



October 2019
November 2018
October 2017
October 2016 
October 2015 
October 2014 
October 2012 
November 2011
October 2010
June 2010
June 2009  
October 2009
June 2008 

Linda R. Watkins, PhD
Vanila M. Singh, M.D., MACM
John P. McCallin, MD, FAAPMR, MAJ, MC
Martin Grabois, MD
Daneshvari R. Solanki, MD
Larry Driver, MD
Gabor Racz, MD
Steve Passik, PhD
Prithvi Raj, MD
Alex Cahana, MD, FIPP
Marc Huntoon, MD, FIPP 
Joshua Prager, MD 
John Loeser, MD, FIPP, ABIPP